SIGMOBILE was formed in 1996 as an international ACM community of researchers and practitioners.

The Goals of SIGMOBILE

  • Perform research in the theory and practice of all areas related to the mobility of systems, users, data, and computing
  • Expand the evolution of portable computers and wireless networks
  • Support the convergence of mobility, computing, and information organization
  • Improve access, services, management, and applications for mobile computing and communications

What We Do

Awards: SIGMOBILE recognizes achievements in mobile computing and communications through awards including the SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award, the SIGMOBILE Distinguished Service Award, the MobiCom Best Student Paper award and the MobiSys Best Paper Award. Details

Events: The world's mobile computing and communications community convenes every year at MobiCom, the International Conference on Mobile Computing and Networking. SIGMOBILE also organizes and sponsors MobiHoc, the International Symposium on Mobile Ad Hoc Networking and Computing; MobiSys, the International Conference on Mobile Systems, Applications, and Services (jointly with the USENIX Association); and SenSys, the ACM Conference on Embedded Networked Sensor Systems (jointly with ACM SIGARCH, SIGCOMM, SIGMETRICS, and SIGOPS). In addition, SIGMOBILE each year sponsors and promotes several workshops and tutorials on timely and important topics. Details

Publications: SIGMOBILE's quarterly journal, Mobile Computing and Communications Review (MC2R), is the leading publication in this rapidly evolving field. The Proceedings of the MobiCom International Conference on Mobile Computing and Networking summarize the year's most advanced and significant work. SIGMOBILE also publishes Wireless Networks: The Journal of Mobile Communication, Computation and Information, and Mobile Networks and Applications: The Journal of SPECIAL ISSUES on Mobility of Systems, Users, Data and Computing. Details

Membership: SIGMOBILE is a not-for-profit, international association of academic researchers, industry scientists and developers, government researchers, and educators. Learn more about SIGMOBILE membership benefits.


Conceived in early 1995, ACM SIGMOBILE started as an organization that fosters research in the field of mobility and tetherless ubiquitous connectivity. In early 1997, we had 21 members and were a relatively unknown organization. Since then, we have grown both in size and stature, with members who span the entire world. Our members work in academia, industry, and government. They are students, teachers, practitioners, policy makers, and scientists. Our organization boasts one of the most remarkable retention rates among all ACM SIGs and adheres to our bylaws, adopted in 1996 and amended in 2009. Read the comprehensive SIGMOBILE History.



    Prof. Marco Gruteser

    Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey 
    North Brunswick, NJ, USA 
    +1-732-932-6857, ext. 649 

  • ACM SIG Program Coordinator

    Fran Spinola

    Association for Computing Machinery
    2 Penn Plaza, Suite 701 
    New York, NY 10121-0701 USA 
    +1.212.302.5826 (fax) 

  • Comments and Suggestions


Executive Committee

The Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer are elected by the SIGMOBILE membership, and the Past Chair is the person serving as Chair prior to the election of the current Chair. The MC2REditor-in-Chief is appointed. 

  • ChairGruteser Marco Rev

    Prof. Marco Gruteser

    Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey 
    North Brunswick, NJ, USA 
    +1-732-932-6857, ext. 649 

  • Vice ChairJason Flinn

    Prof. Jason Flinn

    University of Michigan
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    +1-(734) 936-5983

  • TreasurerFalko Dressler

    Prof. Falko Dressler

    University of Paderborn
    Paderborn, Germany
    +49 5251 60-6510

  • SecretaryGiovanni Pau

    Prof. Giovanni Pau

    UPMC - LIP6

    +33 144278842 

  • Past ChairSuman Banerjee

    Prof. Suman Banerjee

    University of Wisconsin-Madison 
    Madison, WI, USA 

  • MC2R Editor-in-ChiefEyal de Lara

    Prof. Eyal de Lara

    University of Toronto
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Appointed Positions

  • Information DirectorXia Zhou

    Prof. Xia Zhou

    Dartmouth College
    Hanover, NH, USA

  • Publications DirectorMariya Zheleva

    Prof. Mariya Zheleva

    State University of New York, Albany
    Albany, NY, USA

  • Social Media DirectorTadashi Okoshi

    Prof. Tadashi Okoshi

    Graduate School of Media and Governance
    Keio University

  • Student Engagement DirectorRajesh Balan

    Prof. Rajesh Balan

    Singapore Management University

  • Dissertation Award Co-ChairLili Qiu

    Prof. Lili Qiu

    University of Texas at Austin
    Austin, TX, USA

  • Dissertation Award Co-ChairDavid Culler

    Prof. David Culler

    University of California at Berkeley
    Berkeley, CA, USA

  • OCA/Rockstar Award ChairEdward Knightly

    Prof. Edward Knightly

    Rice University
    Houston, TX, USA

  • Research Highlights ChairHeather Zheng

    Prof. Heather Zheng

    University of Chicago

  • Video DirectorViet Nguyen

    Viet Nguyen

    Rutgers University

  • Web DirectorKasthuri Jayarajah

    Kasthuri Jayarajah

    Singapore Management University

Previous Executive Committees


  • Prof. Suman Banerjee, Chair 
  • Prof. Lili Qiu, Vice Chair 
  • Prof. Marco Gruteser, Secretary 
  • Prof. Alec Wolman, Treasurer 
  • Dr. Roy Want, Past Chair


  • Dr. Roy Want, Chair 
  • Prof. Robert Steele, Vice Chair 
  • Prof. Ramesh Govindan, Secretary 
  • Prof. Lili Qiu, Treasurer 
  • Prof. David B. Johnson, Past Chair


  • Prof. David B. Johnson, Chair 
  • Dr. Jason Redi, Vice Chair 
  • Prof. Chiara Petrioli, Secretary 
  • Prof. Tracy Camp, Treasurer 
  • Dr. Victor Bahl, Past Chair


  • Dr. Victor Bahl, Chair 
  • Dr. Mary Baker, Vice Chair 
  • Prof. Andrew Campbell, Secretary 
  • Prof. David B. Johnson, Treasurer 
  • Prof. Imrich Chlamtac, Past Chair


  • Prof. Imrich Chlamtac, Chair 
  • Dr. Victor Bahl, Vice Chair 
  • Prof. Christopher Rose, Secretary  
  • Prof. David B. Johnson, Treasurer

Annual Meetings

SIGMOBILE holds open business meetings every year to discuss organizational issues such as conferences, workshops, and other events; the SIGMOBILE budget; and membership services. These meetings are normally held one evening during the annual MobiCom conference. Everyone is welcome and encouraged to attend the business meeting. You do not need to be a member fo SIGMOBILE to attend. 

Annual Reports

Every year, as ACM's fiscal year ends annually on June 30, each SIG Chair is required to submit a report to ACM's SIG Governing Board that summarizes the highlights of the SIG's activities over the previous year. The SIGMOBILE Annual Reports for past years are reproduced here for SIGMOBILE's members and the SIGMOBILE community: