SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award

The SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award is given for significant and lasting contributions to the research on mobile computing and communications and wireless networking.

Current Recipient

  • 2018Teresa Meng

    Prof. Teresa Meng

    For groundbreaking research, engineering and entrepreneurial leadership to make Wi-Fi faster, lower power, and lower cost. 

Past Recipients

  • 2017Norm Abramson

    Prof. Norman Abramson

    For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of random access wireless networking including the development of ALOHA, the first packet data wireless network. 

  • 2015Mario Gerla

    Prof. Mario Gerla

    For pioneering contributions to mobile computing, communications and wireless networking. 

  • 2014Leonard Kleinrock

    Prof. Leonard Kleinrock

    For pioneering contributions to the first multi-hop packet switched radio network which formed the foundation for modern wireless networks.

  • 2013Victor Bahl

    Dr. Victor Bahl

    For pioneering contributions to wireless Internet broadband technologies, and for inspirational leadership of the mobile computing community.

  • 2012P. R. Kumar

    Prof. P. R. Kumar

    For pioneering contributions to the foundations of asymptotic performance analysis of large scale wireless networks.

  • 2010Mahadev Satyanarayanan

    Prof. Mahadev Satyanarayanan

    For pioneering a wide spectrum of technologies in support of disconnected and weakly connected mobile clients

  • 2009Deborah Estrin

    Prof. Deborah Estrin

    For significant technical contributions and global advocacy of networked embedded systems

  • 2007David E. Culler

    Prof. David E. Culler

    For developing the TinyOS platform which significantly advanced wireless sensor networking research and associated applications

  • 2006Daniel P. Siewiorek

    Prof. Daniel P. Siewiorek

    For pioneering and fundamental contributions to wearable and context-aware computing

  • 2004Andy Hopper

    Prof. Andy Hopper

    For pioneering new areas of research in wireless and mobile computing, driven by a unique blend of innovative academic research and recognition of its commercial potential

  • 2003Ian F. Akyildiz

    Prof. Ian F. Akyildiz

    For pioneering contributions in the area of mobility and resource management for wireless communication networks

  • 2002Randy H. Katz

    Prof. Randy H. Katz

    For excellence in research and teaching of mobile computing systems and wireless networking

  • 2001Imrich Chlamtac

    Prof. Imrich Chlamtac

    For significant contributions to the design of distributed scheduling channel access protocols and leadership in mobile communications

  • 1999Mark. D. Weiser

    Dr. Mark. D. Weiser

    For fundamental contributions and leadership in developing the field of ubiquitous computing

  • 1998Robert W. Brodersen

    Prof. Robert W. Brodersen

    For ideas fundamental to the emergence of low power radio frequency communications devices and systems for handheld computers

  • 1997David J. Goodman

    Prof. David J. Goodman

    For fundamental contributions to the theory of multiple access protocols for radio frequency communications

  • 1996Anthony Ephremides

    Prof. Anthony Ephremides

    For fundamental contributions to statistical communications theory and its application to wireless and satellite systems

Nomination Process

Nominations for the Outstanding Contribution Award should be submitted by February 15 of each year to the chair of the ACM SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award Committee, Edward Knightly, at knightly!@!

Each nomination should consist of the following items: 
1. Name, address, phone number, and email address of the person making the nomination. 
2. Curriculum vitae, including publications, of the nominee. 
3. Name, address, phone number, and email address of the candidate for whom an award is recommended. Please indicate which award the nominee is recommended for. 
4. A statement (between 200 and 500 words long) as to why the candidate deserves the particular award. 
5. Minimum of three and maximum of five supporting letters from individuals and organizations who endorse the nomination. Names, addresses, phone numbers, and email addresses of the supporting contacts must be included. 
The award is usually given annually and will be presented at one of ACM SIGMOBILE's conferences during the ensuing year following selection of a winning nomination. 

Please note:
1. Self-nominations are not accepted. 
2. The nominee need not be a member of ACM SIGMOBILE. 
3. the nominator must be a member of ACM SIGMOBILE. 
4. Nominations which did not result in a award can be resubmitted and updated in subsequent years. 
5. Previous recipients are not eligible for future nominations. 
6. Members of the SIGMOBILE Executive Committee are not eligible. 

Selection Committee

The Outstanding Contribution Awards is the highest honor the SIGMOBILE community bestows on an individual. It is a recognition of the lasting technical contribution made by this person and the influence he or she has had on our field. The Selection Committee for the award includes the past winners and the SIGMOBILE Chair.